The Society for Economic Research on Copyright Issues

About Us

Our Objective

The Society for Economic Research on Copyright Issues (SERCI) was established during the year 2001, with the principal objective of providing a solid academic platform from which scientific debate concerning copyright, dealt with from an economic theory perspective, can be launched and defended. SERCI aims to actively promote and internationally distribute quality academic research relating economic theory to all aspects of copyright and intellectual property of a cultural nature.

SERCI Activities

The activities of SERCI include, but are not restricted to:

  • The maintenance of a web site designed to be a forum of discussion on economic theory and copyright. The general underlying objective of the web site is to provide a useful tool for all individuals and institutions interested in furthering their understanding of efficient copyright management.

  • Collection and maintenance of a working paper archive.

  • Organization of an annual congress of academics from all over the world, where their research is presented and discussed.

  • Distribution of the output of the congress as widely as possible.


There are two types of member of SERCI. On one hand, individual members who are the academics that support the Society’s activities by presenting papers, and generally attending and actively participating in the annual congress. Individual membership is retained for two years, and is renewable by simply fulfilling the requisite of attending the congress. Individual members have one vote at the annual general meeting of the Society, which is held each year at the congress.

On the other hand, financial members are those institutions and individuals who contribute financially to the Society. SERCI is extremely privileged and grateful to have as our current financial members Fundación Autor, Google, and Ecole de Mines (ParisTech).


  • 2001 - 2002     Edwardo Bautista

  • 2002 - 2003     Richard Watt

  • 2003 - 2005     Ruth Towse

  • 2005 - 2007     Stan Liebowitz

  • 2007 - 2009     Ivan Png

  • 2009 - 2011     Steve Margolis

  • 2011 - 2013     Giovanni Ramello

  • 2013 - 2015     Marcel Boyer

  • 2015 - 2017     Oliver Bomsel

  • 2017 - 2019     Christian Handke